Albert Vila is one of the most outstanding guitarists of his generation. He began his musical studies at the “Taller de Musics” Barcelona, where he studied with Andy Rossety and J. Luis Gamez. In 1999 he was accepted into the Conservatory of Amsterdam and followed   the “jazz guitar performance” program, there he had the opportunity to study with Jesse Van Ruller.

In 2004 he was awarded with the first prize in the Dutch Jazz Competition for his composition “Gym Jam”. The following year the conservatory gave him a scholarship to join the graduate program at the prestigious “Manhattan School of Music” in New York, where he lessons from: Rodney Jones, Dave Liebman and Phil Markowitz.

In 2007 after completing his post graduate studies he  decided to return to his hometown, Barcelona. Once in Barcelona he decided to lead a new project: Albert Vila quintet, with this group in 2007 won the national competition in Donosti ”Debajazz”, and is in the same year that the record label Fresh Sound New Talent released his debut album “Foreground music”.

In 2011 released his second album on Fresh Sound New Talent, entitled “Tactile” with seven new songs, Albert shows his work in Spain and in several European countries, receiving a very warm welcome by both the public and the critics. In 2012, Albert  presented his latest album in trio formation, where  he surrounded himself  by the great drummer Jorge Rossy and bassist Reinier Elizarde , this time his repertoire will consist of well-known American jazz standards. He was also awarded with the first prize at Jazz Hoeilaart competition for one of his songs.

In 2014 Joins the Jazz Master program for composition at the Koninklijk conservatory of Brussels.

In 2015  He was teaching and performing next to: Dave Douglas,  Aaron Goldberg, Greg Hutchinson and Reuben Rogers at the International Jalisco Jazz Festival.

In February of 2016 he releases his most recent  record “The Unquiet Sky” recorded in NY and featuring some of the most original voices in the nowadays jazz scene: Aaron Parks on piano , Doug Weiss on bass  and Jeff Ballard on drums.

After that he promoted his album playing at different Festivals and venues all around Europe together with great sidemen such as Shai Maestro and Luís Perdomo.

In 2019 he starts writing new music for a new guitar trio.

In 2020 embarks himself on a challenging project: a solo guitar album, in 2021 his music was recorded and the result will be heard on his upcoming album “Levity” which will be released in 2023 under two labels the Belgian label Hypnote Records and the Japanese Mocloud Records.

In 2022 he is planning to finally record his new trio music with an outstanding american rhythm section: Doug Weiss on bass and Rudy Royston on drums.